Vanuatu map Vanuatu flag

Vanuatu, officially the Republic of Vanauatu, is a Pacific island nation located in the South Pacific Ocean. The archipelago, which is of volcanic origin, is some 1,750 kilometres (1,090 mi) east of northern Australia, 540 kilometres (340 mi) northeast of New Calidonia, east of New Guinea, southeast of the Solomon Islands , and west of Fiji.

The Vanuatu Financial Services Commission (VFSC) was formally established in December 1993, after the Vanuatu Parliament enacted the Vanuatu Financial Services Commission Act No. 35 of 1993. Previous to this, we were the Registrar of Companies and the Official Receivership Department of the Treasury since 1971 under then, British Administration and after independence in July 1980, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Management.

In short, the main function of the VFSC is to operate and effective and efficient Registry. In addition, it has been tasked to regulate and supervise the non-deposit taking financial services industry of Vanuatu. This function would include promoting the industry overseas and protecting its reputation from undesirable business persons.

Comments are closed